Sunday, May 07, 2006

And to think that while posting earlier today, I forgot to add animal rights. Here I am, a vegetarian, coming closer and closer to veganism, and I forgot animal rights!

I remember the first time I ate at one particular boyfriend's house. I was 15 at the time and had just started dating bf. It was Sunday dinner, which meant meat, potatoes, a green veggie taken from their 1-acre (!) garden. (They had a 65-acre piece of property and had several cows, as well as a steer.) As we ate, bf asked his mom, "Is this still Eddy?" He was holding up a forkful of meat at the time. "Yup. But we're almost done with Eddy, so I guess it's almost time for Joe."

"Who's Eddy?" I asked. Turns out he was dinner, and Joe was the steer I'd seen in the nearby field. It made finishing dinner difficult, to say the least.

Since then, I've gotten to the point where it's difficult to think of eating meat. I'm not going to walk up to someone and smack them around for eating meat. Hey, I'm married to a carnivore. (I've been known to tell people we have a mixed marriage: I'm a vegetarian, he's a carnivore. Makes for an ice-breaker, for sure.) But the point is this: I don't feel comfortable at all eating anything with a face. Could I eat our 16 year old cocker spaniel? Our 10 year old cat? No. So where does it start? Where does it end?

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home